Step by Step….

Rapala Wobbler.

Rapala Wobbler. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I had a child at school write about steak and asparagus….One of the key points of Her (a 5-year-old) writing was that she got a bone stuck in her teeth and she had to YANK it out….I was rather impressed by this confident verb…If only we all had the ability to yank our troubles away, then our little world would be all the better.

One time I got a rapala (a fishing plug) stuck deep in my thumb….I was holding up a bass for a photo.  The bass wiggled (as fish tend to do) and buried the treble hook to the bone.  I tried to get it out by digging, twisting and pulling.  Buttttt, the friendly barb desired my company for a little more time….

So my friends paddled me back upriver, found a local doctor who proceeded to cut the hook, put a foot on the table and Yank the hook out.  So my rather rambling point is that sometimes a nice aggressive yank can solve problems…

Hook within my finger deep

from my mouth there came no peep..

of any anger I portray…

Calmness I do strive to keep…

Pulling, twisting, tugging hard

with a heron standing guard…

wondering now if I will drop….

Tasty fish in her back yard…

This struggle of which I am full…

And never really comfortable….

The heron has now flown away…

As I do give up on the pull…

Paddling paddling stroking back…

Wishing that I had a snack…

But difficult it was to eat…

with this dangling, fishy tack…

From doctor medicine gladly drank…

And to his eyes I gave a thank …

doing it alone I almost sank….

Needed help then with the yank….

(This poem is much better with the word comfortable read in three syllables like this  comf-ter-bull…try it…you’ll see)

David L Whitman 03/30/2012 from under a sky so blue….

5 thoughts on “Step by Step….

Leave a Reply

