The Little Things…..

Hope is in the Trees

 

This is a tree that I used to sit up in and read.  To be honest it wasn’t the most comfortable place to do that but there was a certain cache attached to being up there.  My friends and I even drug up a game board and played monopoly.  Once again, not comfortable but certainly unique….When I took this photo, the sky was such a pretty blue.  I think it’s the little things like that can refocus and replenish a person.  For me it gave me a chance to reflect.

1.  Try to see the glass half full instead of all empty.

2.  Remember that blue skies can be just around the corner.

3.  Remember that I have people who love me that will help shoulder the burdens.

4.  Do things for myself instead of being much to selfless.

5.  Go outside!!!!  This is thoughts from the outdoors after all!!!

And now……a poem

 

A gasp of blue like electric jolts to an inebriated heart…

woken from sleepless slumber…

drug by the hair to a world of sun….

Stomping on the castles of despair….

Knocked down again and again…

too many years to not see the brightness

the light that always shines…

twisted though my fears may be…

Reality dances its cruel samba…

And two left feet do not a partner make…

like cool water to the face…forever is never ever…

but always for it is…

lessons to be learned from the harshest of masters…

but nonetheless, lessons they are…

And learned they have been…

Strength flows from unusual sources but accept it I will…

and with a flick the dark is banished….

behind the filthy rock…

where it belongs…

 

David L. Whitman 03/31/2012 from under a sky so blue…

11 thoughts on “The Little Things…..

  1. Oh, this is plain perfect. I wanted to read an old poem of yours. And look which one I stumbled upon!!! I can’t believe it; I just got done telling you how I used to sit in trees! And here you are sitting in a tree. 🙂 What a lovely tree. It looks to be smiling. Although I don’t want you to be sad and melancholic, when you write from that space, like in this poem, I feel very much connected and understood….and your poet voice through spirit, is so strong here. Loved it. Thanks, Sam in tree

Leave a Reply

