Warped Strength

Warped and Lost

——–

Despite the lonely twitch of gnats

The hike was fruitful as hikes go..

the wind was out and the weather

though warm was a pleasant surprise..

trail after trail led past treasures…

not the ordinary shining gift

found on a shelf…

but small wild flowers

screaming with color from

a grass colored floor…

thorns blanketing the pathside

like guardians of a secret land…

And glimpses of the sun as it darted

in and out of gray backed clouds…

and then one post…

straight yet twisted…

warped and wrapped by tremulous vines…

Standing strong yet oppressed…

evermore a sentinel

of an age long since forgotten

and unlikely to return…

Seeing the retreating waters

and feeling for my lonely twin

I headed slowly up the slope

heavy hearted but open eyed

back towards my own

briared path

and my own

warped existence…

——

David L. Whitman 05/20/2012 from under a sky so blue…

39 thoughts on “Warped Strength

  1. Nice! i love how i got to read something that is not just about pain or suffering due to love life. a nice break

  2. I love how you use the senses to really evoke the scene and mood.

    warped and wrapped by tremulous vines…

    Standing strong yet oppressed…

    evermore a sentinel

    of an age long since forgotten

    and unlikely to return…

    Brilliant! I really liked this 🙂

    • Thank you, Nezha…I’ve really been trying to explore a 5 mile circle around my house and I’m discovering things I never saw before:)))

    • There was a thick forest edge and there was no way to push in anywhere because the thorns were right there. Really a pretty place. Thank you for stopping by:)

  3. love the poem and the photo.. love this part:

    trail after trail led past treasures..

    not the ordinary shining gift

    found on a shelf…

    but small wild flowers

    screaming with color from

    a grass colored floor…

  4. This one just beckons to be read again and again, there is truly so much there. The picture it paints is haunting and beautiful…I really may have to read it several times more. Thank you for writing with a good layer of depth again.

  5. This one bleeds life and deep seeing. The wildflowers…*sigh*. I can picture them calling out. I related to them for some reason. And the post. The twin. This poem is thick in layers and messages. Words to be read again and again, and spun in the mind like threads of magic. “Heavy hearted and opened eyes….” Loved many of the lines, but the flowers and heavy heart struck me the most. You continue to compose some marvelous works. Congrats. Sam the flower turned fruit

    • Yes…And there was one small line near the end which actually referred to the location of the post and the drought issue…but you have to make a bit of a mental leap to see it

        • Seeing the retreating waters

          and feeling for my lonely twin

          I headed slowly up the slope….ok…these three lines…let you know…A..The waters are far away from the post…therefore B. the post used to be closer or in the water…C….the water/pond is of shrunken size because of drought conditions…D. I headed back up the slope because ponds tend to be downhill from surrounding land so rain always collects in low points…and i’m a pisces hence…my twin A post wishing for water…Buttttt…that’s just what i was thinking because i was there and saw the whole picture:)

  6. That poem, reflects everything i love about walking. However, we don’t have lonely gnats, more like billions twitching, feeding and biting every walker in warm May weather in the UK. lol.

    • hehehe…well they’re lonely because they’re just waiting for a person to annoy….It’s Florida so it’s verrryyyy hot:)))….billions…twitchiing, feeding, and biting…Your comment is as poetic as my poem :))

  7. I keep thinking one of these days you’ll write something I don’t care for, but each day you prove me wrong. I tell you that with joy, as it is my pleasure.

  8. Just on presentation, I think this new look works better for your photos than the previous one. I’ve noticed at galleries that a light aquamarine blue seems to enhance the colours of a painting or a photo better than anything. But that is just my perception of course!

    • You know. I agree. And the blue looked good. But it messed up the text. I’m probably not seeing the text font because I like the green but I liked blue better if I can get the text to stand out. At least this has a very open inviting post presentation. Going to work on this later. Thank you john:)

      • Green is my favourite colour! had no idea you were looking at blue too, but I remember an exhibition at the tate Modern in London a few years ago which just made the colours of the paintings jump out at you. But I can see you need to think equally about what works for your text, given the poems.

        I’m sticking to my wordpress default theme – no problems!

Leave a Reply

